The ELCT at a Glance


The Presiding Bishop or “Mkuu” is elected for a four-year term from amongst the Bishops of the dioceses.


The General Assembly of the Church meets every four years. An Executive Council consisting of:

  • diocese Bishops
  • diocese Secretaries General
  • directors of Church institutions
  • meet three times each year, while an Executive Committee meets more frequently


    The three-pronged role of the ELCT Head Office is capacity building, advocacy and facilitation for the entire Church. There are at least 40 employees including supporting staff.

    Under the new organisational structure that became effective in July 1998 there are four departments answerable to the Secretary General. The Secretary General’s Office has the Advocacy, Democracy and Communication Desks. Auditor General is advisor to the Executive Council. The four Departments are as follows:

  • Audit Division
  • Mission and Evangelism
  • Finance and Administration
  • Planning and Development
  • Social Services and Women's Work
  • ELCT Organization Chart per year 2004